Hiatus

hiatus: (noun | hi·a·tus | hī-ˈā-təs )

a period of time when something (such as an activity or program) is stopped. 

I guess I’ve been on a bit of a blogging and running hiatus over the past two weeks. I didn’t plan it. It just kind of happened…

Because I didn’t plan it, I don’t have an actual re-entry plan. I’m just going to have to go for it. Just jump back in like I’m getting into the deep end of a frigid pool.

This is uncomfortable. I’m looking at my training plan and it’s telling me to cross train for an hour today. It’s a reasonable assignment, but I haven’t run anywhere or actually elevated my heart rate for an extended period of time in two weeks. I’ve been walking. But not all that aggressively.

Here’s the thing:

putting things off makes it worse.

Everyone knows that, right? But I am a procrastinator by nature, and I sometimes have to remind myself. It may be hard to get myself back on track after a hiatus, but it will be harder tomorrow than it is today.

yesterday

Everyone needs a break sometimes, even from the thing they love the most.

Concrete goals help guide you back to the path – even keep you from straying too far in the first place. This is another reason I like to schedule races for myself throughout the year. Just knowing that the next race is out there helps me choose a side salad instead of fries, and pushes me out the door when motivation wanes.

That’s me. What about you?

Are you on hiatus from anything? 

Do you have a future race on the calendar?

2 thoughts on “Hiatus

  1. I recently took a long hiatus from writing and it was very scary to dive back in, I’m not sure what it is but there’s something about starting again that causes procrastination/fear, but once you get over it and start it’s not so bad!

Leave a Reply

