What I’m Eating

My kids – actually, my whole family – really like to snack. I don’t think we’re unique there. I’ve tried all kinds of “healthier” options for snacks so that they get some nutrition rather than just filling up on chemicals and empty calories. It can be a challenge though, for a number of reasons. I walk through the aisles of every, single supermarket, trying to find something new and different that will appeal to my desire for healthier foods for my kids as well as their desire for nothing but delicious, delicious, snacks.  I generally don’t find much, and so I end up compromising somewhere between what they want and what I want them to have.

I’ve tried making my own healthier snacks, and I do keep some of them around the house, but they are never the most popular item in the snack cabinet. And I work full-time outside of my home (also not unique), which doesn’t leave a lot of time for experimenting in the kitchen.

Recently I discovered graze, a healthy snack delivery company. According to their website, the company “was started by seven friends sick of chips and candy, who wanted a better way to snack.”

FullSizeRender (1)

That sounded right up my alley, so I ordered a 4-snack variety box to see what they had to offer.

Verdict: Great stuff!

The kids were really excited when the box arrived. We opened it right away and ate everything inside. We were controlled and scientific though – we finished each individual snack before we opened the next, to be sure we were getting the full effect of each one.

FullSizeRender (2)

The snacks in our 4-snack variety box were:

  • Summer Berry Flapjack (rustic rolled oat flapjack with berry-infused cranberries)
    this was our favorite. it’s a cross between an oatmeal cookie and a granola bar.
  • Punchy Protein Nuts (chili and lime cashews, raw and blanched almonds and raw pistachio kernels)
    we loved this one too. just enough spice to give it a kick without requiring a sprint to the faucet for a drink.
  • Herby Bread Basket (mini basil breadsticks, oregano rice crackers and garlic crostini)
    yummy cracker snack mix that is great alternative to popular cereal mix snacks.
  • Garden of England (soft apple pieces, strawberries and blackcurrants)
    dried fruit. the strawberries were like little nuggets of delicious strawberry jam, and it was a delicious snack.

The website has a lot of options to customize your snack delivery, including nutritionist-approved boxes, sweet boxes, savory boxes, and boxes with larger quantities for sharing. You can customize your subscription preference too, receiving snacks as it suits your needs (e.g. weekly, every other week, monthly).

Each box you receive should be better than the last, as you rate the snacks you’ve received (like it, love it, want to try it). Subsequent boxes take your ratings into consideration, improving the chances that you’ll love all of the snacks you receive.

Try a box. It’s only $6.99 (and delivery is free), so there’s really nothing to lose.

Leave a Reply

