Greens, Greens, Greens!

It’s the third week of our spring CSA share and we are still deeply immersed in GREENS! It’s a great way to jump start some nutritious eating in the spring after a long, cold, comfort-food-filled winter. All of these greens are also a creative culinary challenge with two somewhat skeptical kids and a mildly vegephobic husband. Here’s what’s in the share this week, along with some thoughts on what I might do with each:

  • Mizuna:
    Looks like arugula, tastes like mustard greens. I’ll probably mix this up with the lettuce and top it with roasted portabellas and Gouda.
  • Spinach:
    This has green smoothies written all over it.
  • Radishes
    We grew them in tiny milk cartons in second grade; chefs celebrate them in the spring. I have never really understood the excitement that surrounds radishes, aside from how striking they can look on a plate full of spring greens.

    These are so beautiful - they beg to be included in a spring dish. Our farm grows the traditional radishes - the little red balls (white on the inside) that you can find in most supermarkets.

    These are so beautiful – they beg to be included in a spring dish. Our farm grows the traditional radishes – the little red balls (white on the inside) that you can find in most supermarkets.

I had to do some recipe research on radishes because I’m pretty sure I’ve never seen or eaten them in anything other than a salad. I’m making a cooked radish recipe, which I will be sure to share if it tastes good at all.

  • Lettuce:
    duh.
  • Scallions:
    Scallion pancakes maybe?
  • Cilantro:
    Salsa! And also, I will be trying this Lifehacker method for keeping cilantro fresh for weeks and weeks!!

What about you? Do you have any favorite creative ways to eat your greens?

2 thoughts on “Greens, Greens, Greens!

  1. I like to put the greens in a big smoothie and eat a ton of them! I buy ORGANIC (got to be organic right?) kale and chard and whatever else is handy. I wash everything and let it dry and then throw it in the fridge. Every two days I make 4 smoothies for my SO and I that includes greens apple cider vinegar, spirulina, ginger, frozen berries, and water. It’s green & delicious!

Leave a Reply

