What’s Next and First CSA Share of the Spring

What’s Next?

I’ve been casting about, trying to figure out what to do with myself how that I’m done with Boston 2015.  I say done with Boston 2015. That’s because both kids enthusiastically told me that I should run Boston again next year. So I’m considering the idea. That’s all, truly. I don’t know what it is about the marathon. There’s something about the structure and the sense of accomplishment that is just intoxicating. For me. For now.

So, I decided to set my race calendar for the rest of the year, so I have some concrete goals to work on. This is what I came up with.

  • May: 5-mile race
  • June: 5K
  • July: Half Marathon
  • August: Training
  • September: Training
  • October: Marathon
  • November: Half Marathon
  • December: 5K

First Spring CSA Shares of 2015

It really can’t be overstated: this was one long, cold winter. So returning to the farm for wintered-over roots and tender spring greens has been a welcome task over the past two weeks. Our first share included: 1 bag of lettuce; 1 bag of mustard greens, 2 bunches of green onions, 4 smallish potatoes; and one giant (19 oz.) parsnip. The second week delivered another bag of mustard greens, a baby head of lettuce, a bag of baby spinach, kale, arugula, more green onions, and baby bok choy.

I made parsnip-potato latkes one night this week. The parsnip adds a really nice dimension to the latkes. This isn’t a great way to “hide” parsnips, because it’s such a dominant flavor. Still delicious though!

Leave a Reply

