Spring is Coming

If you’ve just discovered my blog, welcome! Thanks for reading it.

Yesterday, I went for a run OUTSIDE – in New England! After the winter we’ve had, it was such a wonderful feeling. There were birds chirping, rivers of melting snow flowing down the sides of the streets, and people smiling and waving to each other everywhere. I even ran past some kids who had set up a juice and cookie stand in front of their house. It was all incredibly uplifting.

This bench was completely buried in snow a week ago.

This bench was completely buried in snow a week ago.

Also uplifting – possibly even more than the birds and the melting snow – were the donations people made to my Boston Marathon run. Every donation I get reminds me of why I’m running and of how many supportive people I have in my life. I am incredibly lucky.

Here’s a little something that I came across recently that I think is a good “nutshell” expression of why I love running:

Running can be anything you need it to be, big or small. It can beat addiction or disease. It can burn off five or 10 or 50 pounds and change your life. Or in the time it takes to watch a few YouTube clips, it can clear the cobwebs in your head, give you a shot of endorphins, and salvage a forgettable day.

Why do you run?

One thought on “Spring is Coming

  1. That’s awesome! I run to shake off the cobwebs and to take my body out for a stroll. Good luck training and enjoy the thaw!

Leave a Reply

