Raising Funds

I haven’t written much about fundraising because I haven’t done much of it. I sent out a few emails before Christmas and some very generous friends and family members stepped up to donate right away. I am eternally grateful for my friends and family, near and far, and I am thankful for every, single penny donated to my Run for Research.

When I got home from my annual Vitamin D Vacation, I found my Love Your Liver jar overflowing with rolls of pennies. While I was away my father-in-law had come over for a visit, bringing the kids a box full of spare pennies he’d collected over time. The kids sorted them into paper coin rolls and donated them to my run. Their generosity warms my heart.

I started putting spare change into this jar to feel like I was making some fundraising effort. Lunch costs $4.50 - the .50 left from the $5.00 bill goes in the jar. And so on.

I started putting spare change into this jar to feel like I was making some fundraising effort. Lunch costs $4.50 – the .50 left from the $5.00 bill goes in the jar. And so on.

As heart-warming as that is, my spare change – even with the donation from the penny drive – will not be enough to meet the fundraising commitment I’ve made. No, I will have to do something else.

If you spend anytime reading articles about fundraising you’ll notice some common suggestions, but they can be summed up into the following three categories:

Something for Nothing
The thing about this type of fundraising is that it really just feels like begging. To me, this is really difficult. If I put myself in the shoes of the other person, I’m really uncomfortable, and…I feel kind of obligated.

So I will just repeat: I am eternally grateful for my friends and family, near and far, and I am thankful for every, single penny that has been donated (in response to my first round of begging) to my Run for Research.

Something for a Chance for Something
A 50/50 Raffle is a good example. People buy tickets for a chance to win half of all the money collected. These seem like an easy way to raise money. People always like a chance to win something, especially if it’s money.

Something for Something
We all know that something for something is infinitely better than something for a chance at something. So, what can I offer? I’ve been considering this question a bit as the clock ticks down on my fundraising window.

Leave a Reply

