Catching Up and Planning Ahead

It’s been a couple of weeks since I even had time to think about my running, let alone write about it. It happens to us all – one aspect or another of our lives gets busier than we had planned for, and another aspect suffers for it. Commitment requires agility and a willingness to attempt to find a way to balance it out over time. It’s easy to focus on mistakes or lapses in dedication (e.g. missing a workout, eating too many cookies), but perspective is also important; missing a couple of workouts over the course of a five-month training program isn’t the worst thing.

So, here I am trying to keep perspective. I’m catching up on the things that suffered (this blog, housecleaning, etc. ) while work was overwhelming. My mileage update reflects how much time work has taken from my training over the past couple of weeks.

Also, I know I’m not the first person to take comfort in a box of Thin Mints when deprived of a regular run. I’ve been “too busy” to plan meals for myself or the family over the past couple of weeks. Everyone can just eat pasta and cereal and peanut butter sandwiches forever…right? I have been busy with work and the kids’ schedules, but in retrospect it’s clear that having planned would have made everything just a smidgen easier. Just a hunch.

This always comes to mind when I start feeling like I’m suffering as a result of my own avoidable shortcoming:

By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail.
-Benjamin Franklin

With that in mind, I made and froze some sweet potato breakfast burritos for the week; and I baked a batch of maple quinoa coconut granola. I also put together a really loose list of dinners to make this week and tried to shop according to that. A busy family and work life for me means that plan can’t always ever be firm, but not having one to fall back on is almost always worse.

Leave a Reply

