What It’s Like to be a Sponsored Athlete

Before you read another word, let me just put it out there: I have no idea what it’s like to be a sponsored athlete. I do, however, earn money for running. Still with me? Then read on…

For a couple of years now I’ve been using Charity Miles. This is an app that links ordinary runners – like myself –  with corporate sponsors to raise money for a designated charity. The app tracks your mileage and translates it into donations. Runners and walkers can earn up to 25¢ per mile. Cyclists can also use the app, earning up to 10¢ per mile. There are over 30 charities to choose from (e.g. Wounded Warrior Project, St. Jude’s Children’s Research Hospital, Autism Speaks, to name just a few); choose one or choose a different one for each run. 

I am almost always running with my phone anyway, so why not piggyback some fundraising onto it? I realized this morning that adding Charity Miles to my 2,015 Miles in 2015 challenge would raise $503.75 for whichever charity I choose; essentially no additional effort required!

So, I guess I can honestly say that it feels really good to be a sponsored charity athlete.

One thought on “What It’s Like to be a Sponsored Athlete

  1. Pingback: National Running Day | Run Through It All

Leave a Reply

