Last night, as I sat at my desk trying to figure out how to raise $5000 to meet the commitment I’ve made to the American Liver Foundation®, my ten-year-old son tapped me on the shoulder and handed me $20.25 from his savings. My very first donation. From my ten-year-old sweetheart.

My first donation!!!

My first donation!!!

After hugging him and thanking him profusely, I found myself recommitted to the goal. By pulling on my heartstrings he has also given me the kick in the pants that I needed to launch my fundraising campaign and to renew my training efforts.

What. An amazing kid I’ve got.

Tugging on the Heartstrings

Leave a Reply

