Good to Know: chia egg replacer

There are some people who are diligent about checking their pantry and refrigerated staples (e.g. butter, eggs) before starting a baking project. I am not one of those people. 

Instead, I tend to keep baking staples stocked in my kitchen so that I can bake something whenever the urge strikes. For me, baking at home goes something like this:

  1. Decide to bake cookies
  2. Soften two sticks of butter in the microwave – you’ll most likely need them 
  3. Look for a recipe

This casual approach usually works out for me. Occasionally however, it turns on me.

Today, I ran into just such a situation. I decided to bake some oatmeal butterscotch cookies as an after school surprise for the kids. When I got to the part of the recipe that calls for adding the eggs to the butter-sugar mixture, I discovered that I had only one egg, rather than the necessary two.

This isn’t the first time I’ve run into this particular dilemma, so I remembered having Googled “egg replacer” before. I tried it again and  discovered instructions on how to use chia seeds for this purpose. Now, I was a bit skeptical, as I expect anyone might be. I mean, these are the very same seeds used in the “ch-ch-ch-chia pet” so popular in the eighties.

image

Despite that, it was the only suggestion I found and I actually had some chia seeds leftover from a smoothie recipe I made a while back. 

image

I replaced one egg with a tablespoon of chia seeds soaked in 3 tablespoons of water for 15 minutes. It worked beautifully and is completely undetectable.

image

Just to test this further, I used the chia egg replacer instead of en egg in a meatloaf, and no one was aware of it at all. Amazing stuff. 

Leave a Reply

