What’s in the Share This Week: 8/11/13

This week’s share is “light on leaves” as our CSA (community-supported agriculture) farm director described it. The super hot weather and lack of rain have discouraged the leafies. It has also encouraged the flowers, and so our share is full of what I consider to be “the good stuff” – the fruit!

Here’s what we get this week:
  • tomatoes – 3 lbs. (about 8)
  • cherry tomatoes – 1 pint
  • cucumbers – 3
  • zucchinis – 2
  • melon – a gigantic and extremely fragrant cantaloupe
  • garlic – 1 head
  • beets – 1 bunch
  • basil – 1 enormous bunch 
  • parsley – 1 bunch
  • potatoes (I traded my eggplant and green peppers for extra potatoes since we still have last week’s peppers and the eggplant was not a hit here, at our dinner table)
I’m going to dice the basil and throw it into the blender/food processor with some olive oil and salt and puree it so that I can freeze it for the fall/winter. 
I’ll buy some of the “sauce tomatoes” (seconds) being sold at the farm stand up the street for a discount; I can add these to what we got in the share, along with some of the basil and the garlic to make a tomato sauce that I can seal in jars.
I’ve already baked the zucchini into a chocolate-M&M zucchini bread. I cut up the cantaloupe so that it’s easy for anyone to just grab and eat. That just leaves the potatoes and the beets, both of which will keep well in the fridge. 
Leave a Reply

